Race Director Oliphant Ming designates and manages the neutral Race Committee, of which the Protest Committee is a subset. The Protest Committee retains autonomy in its rulings and may disagree with the Race Director's interpretations. The Protest Committee consists of Primary Jurors Geoff Gavaskar, Eloise Pasteur, and Static Sprocket, along with Alternate Juror Pacifien Massiel. Rulings are determined by 2/3 majority of available jurors, however all four may confer on their rulings.

DISPUTE RESOLUTION AND JURISDICTION
Any protests not resolved on the water between racers may be filed with the Race Committee after the day's events have concluded, no sooner. Protests must be filed within four hours of a regatta's end, with all team members for the disputed Challenger given notice via IM within thirty minutes of the regatta's end. All protests which do not affect series standings will be dismissed.
Protests may only be filed by an injured party against a fouling boat. The Race Commitee has the sole authority to enforce missed marks, spinnaker usage, kedging, race wind, crew, or Class Rule violations, under penalty of disqualification if not redressed by an appropriate penalty turn on the course.
All other related disputes not governed by the SLSF Cup Deed of Gift shall be subject to the sole authority of the SLSF Cup Committee.
SLSF CUP SERIES RULES
All racers should review the Terms of Challenge, Protocol, and Class Rule prior to sailing. SLSF Cup series regattas operate under current International Sailing Federation Racing Rules of Sailing, with key amendments including:
*Boats which moor after the start horn, intentionally or unintentionally, are permitted to to finish any particular race only if they retain the race wind, otherwise they must retire.
*Kedging, via edit or drag, is not permitted. The penalty is equivalent to colliding with a marker, one 360-degree turn.
*Any racers finishing more than 100% after the time of an immediately preceding legal finish in the same race must retire, at which point their score will be recorded as DNF and the five-minute warning will be announced for the next race.
*For purposes of right-of-way rulings, "damage" shall only consist of incidents which fuse prims, eject crew, lose the race wind, disrupt physics continuity, or impair the functionality of a boat's script sufficiently to require an object reset.
INCIDENT 1 - SYC PROTESTS VYC, VYC PROTESTS SYC
SYC CREW - Skipper Faykin Odets, Tactician Drift Monde
VYC CREW - Skipper Oliphant Ming, Tactician Pixeleen Mistral
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
BEGIN PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVENT: Challenger Act 4 RACE NUMBER: 2
PROTESTING TEAM: SYC
PROTESTED TEAM: VYC
LOCATION OF INCIDENT ON COURSE: Hotdog Mark
RULES ALLEGED TO HAVE BEEN BROKEN: 11
DESCRIPTION OF INCIDENT: SYC was leeward of VYC when boats interpenetrated. The photo of the incident clearly shows that boats were overlapped, and that SYC was leeward of VYC at the time of contact.
ATTACH DIAGRAM:

ATTACH HAIL LOG:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
END PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
BEGIN PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVENT: Challenger Act 4 RACE NUMBER: 2
PROTESTING TEAM: VYC
PROTESTED TEAM: SYC
LOCATION OF INCIDENT ON COURSE: Approaching the Hotdog Mark
RULES ALLEGED TO HAVE BEEN BROKEN:
1) Overtaking yacht shall keep clear. (Rule 12)
2) Editing boats on the course requires a penalty turn. (Race Instructions: Kedging, via edit or drag, is not permitted. The penalty is equivalent to colliding with a marker, one 360-degree turn.)
3) Damage to VYCs boat. (Race Instructions: For purposes of right-of-way rulings, "damage" shall only consist of incidents which fuse prims, eject crew, lose the race wind, disrupt physics continuity, or impair the functionality of a boat's script sufficiently to require an object reset.)
DESCRIPTION OF INCIDENT: VYC had been ahead (but not very far ahead) of SYC for the entire leg and was approaching the hot dog mark. SYC was attempting to pass but drove over the transom of VYC's boat. There was no overlap before SYC drove into VYC, nor did SYC hail VYC before the collision. The collision fused the two boats and they ended up frozen. I took a picture immediately after the collision.
The collision damaged VYC's boat to the point that she was unable to move, and we spent out the rest of the race attempting to get the boat to sail again until the race commitee called time. Immediately after the boats collided VYC notified SYC of its protest and asked them to retire and lower their sails. After a while, SYC claimed that that we fouled them. SYC then edited their boat up into the sky, and down underwater. We again notified them that that was a foul, but they did not asckowledge this nor did they take any penalty turns. I asked them many times if they were going to retire from the race, so SYC was well aware of what this protest was about.
VYC was unable to hail SYC to keep clear, because they suddenly drove into us. They had been close behind us the entire leg, and I (PIxeleen Mistral) could see their mast/sail frequently, so they clearly knew exactly where we were, and did not exercise good seamanship by leaving room when attempting to pass. The were no hails from SYC before the collision, so there was nothing we could do as the boat that was ahead when they drove into our stern.
Because VYC's boat was irrreperably damaged, we ask the race committee to both DSQ SYC and give us the average of our other finishes in this event so that we are not unfairly penalized by SYCs actions.
ATTACH DIAGRAM:

ATTACH HAIL LOG: No hail log available. We had to relog after the Race Committee told us that our time was up.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
END PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
FINDINGS
1) From the photos, the boats are both on the same tack.
2) The SYC boat either had overlap, in which case the windward boat (VYC) must keep clear, or
3) The there is no overlap, and SYC has an oblication to change course to avoid running into the back the other boat.
4) The photo may "show" an overlap, but is unclear if that overlap occurred as a result of the SYC yacht striking the VYC transom, or the SYC yacht sailing above her proper coarse.
5) Neither boat was able to finish the race.
JUDGEMENT
The judgement of this juror is that SYC boat caused the incident. Penalty should be DSQ for SYC for this race, and redress should be the average of scores for VYC.
FINDINGS
SYC could do well to learn from the details in the VYC protest. Absence of chat logs makes ruling on VYC #2 difficult. VYC have explained why they do not have a chat log, why is there not one from SYC? The photographs that both teams provided strong suggestion that VYC's commentary was accurate, since SYC clearly catches VYC from astern.
JUDGEMENT
SYC protest denied. All the rules require giving room to give right of way.
VYC upheld for the protest regarding breach of rule 12.
Insufficient evidence to comment on breach of editing rules.
VYC upheld for redress from photographs.
FINDINGS
Based on the lay of the boats in the snap shot taken, I do not believe that the two boats were overlapped long enough for the leeward rule to come apply. Although the SYC boat did clearly come to rest to leeward, it appears it did so while attempting to overtake as the two boats closed.
JUDGEMENT
Based on the photos and description, SYC was not overlapped with VYC prior to the collision and thus I rule in favor of VYC.
FINDINGS
From the description provided by both protesting parties, I have determined one of the two situations occurred:
1) Both boats were on the same tack with VYC being clear ahead of SYC when it tacked toward the Hotdog Mark. In this case, SYC is the offending party due to Rule 12 which states "when boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead."
2) SYC was in the process of overtaking VYC when VYC tacked toward the hotdog mark. In this case, SYC is again the offending party due to Rule 15 which states "when a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat's actions."
JUDGEMENT
Ruling in favor of VYC.
VYC is awarded a redress equaling the average of their finishes for the other races in the event.
SYC is disqualified from the race. VYC is awarded redress.
INCIDENT 2 - SYC PROTESTS VYC, VYC DEFENDS
SYC CREW - Skipper Faykin Odets, Tactician Drift Monde
VYC CREw - Skipper Oliphant Ming, Tactician Pixeleen Mistral
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
BEGIN PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVENT: Challenger Act 4 RACE NUMBER: 4
PROTESTING TEAM: SYC
PROTESTED TEAM: VYC
LOCATION OF INCIDENT ON COURSE: Beat windward after the Start
RULES ALLEGED TO HAVE BEEN BROKEN: 10
DESCRIPTION OF INCIDENT: VYC tacked to port while SYC was on a starboard tack, causing our boats to collide.
ATTACH DIAGRAM:

ATTACH HAIL LOG:
[13:46] Drift Monde: SH SYC Says "PROTEST"
[13:47] Drift Monde: SH SYC Says "PROTEST"
[13:47] Drift Monde: Oli
[13:47] Drift Monde: SH SYC Says "PROTEST"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
END PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
BEGIN DEFENSE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) Inadequate notification.
[14:50] Faykin Odets: I hereby formaly notify you that SYC will be protesting VYC for 3 seperate incidents on the water... 2 in race 4 1 in race 2
Does not clearly state what alleged fouls took place infringing on the rights of VYC to mount a defense. On this basis alone, the protests should be denied.
After consulting with the rest of VYC, we were unable to guess what Faykin was referring to, and I asked for clarification.
[14:58] Pixeleen Mistral: can you outline what each of the various protest you are filing are about?
[14:58] Pixeleen Mistral: we are confused
We did not get any response from SYC until long AFTER the notification period, when Drifte Monde dropped a folder on us at 3:17 PM SLT, 27 minutes after the initial notification.
2) The detail we recieved from Drifte Monde nearly 30 minutes after the formal notification does not establish a foul had occurred, nor does it establish anything
other than Drifte Monde saying protest several times.
VYC attempted to tack, saw that they would not clear SYC, and turned back fully to port tack with no contact occuring. It was a near miss, however.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
END DEFENSE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
FINDINGS
1) A collision is alleged and denied.
2) No other evidence of collision is available.
3) No assertion is made that VYC had to or did alter course.
JUDGEMENT
This protest is thrown out for lack of evidence.
FINDINGS
Grow up! If the commentary from VYC about the protest being notified outside the time limits is correct this should not have come to the protest committee. Take a decent sized snapshot. The image is so small that if there was any contact it would be impossible to determine anything.
JUDGEMENT
Protest denied. There is evidence that SYC protested VYC, but no evidence that contact occured although it may have done. The provided snapshot shows two boats on a starboard tack, not any evidence of a boat on a port tack colliding or at risk of colliding.
FINDINGS
The same chat log was appended by the protester to both incidents making it difficult to asses which incident the hails were for. The incident description from SYC does not indicate where VYC hit SYC, and the snapshot provided regretably also does not indicate. From VYC's defense, they indicate that they started a tack, saw that they would not clear SYC, and turned back. SYC claims a collision occured and VYC indicates a "near miss."
The definition of "Keep Clear" as defined by US Sailing ROW (http://www.sailing.org/RRS2005/Definitions.pdf) indicates that "One boat keeps clear of another if the other can sail her course with no need to take avoiding action" -- in my opinion a near miss would be cause for the boat with ROW to take avoiding action.
I found the timing of the notifcation and filing of the Protest was within the letter of the rules, although perhaps not within the intent. As it meets the letter of the rules, notification of intent to Protest within 30 minutes, and formal Protest within 4hrs, I am disregarding the complaint as to inadequate notification. The defending team had 3hrs to determine their reponse after receiving the formal protest.
JUDGEMENT
I rule in favor of the SYC boat.
FINDINGS AND JUDGEMENT
Protests rejected due to lack of evidence that collisions occurred that caused significant damage that fused prims, ejected crew, disrupted phsyics continuity, impaired the boat's script functionality, caused a boat to lose the race wind, or even adversely affect the protesting party's final score.
SYC's protest is dismissed.
INCIDENT 3 - SYC PROTESTS VYC, VYC DEFENDS
SYC CREW - Skipper Faykin Odets, Tactician Drift Monde
VYC CREW - Skipper Oliphant Ming, Tactician Pixeleen Mistral
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
BEGIN PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVENT: Challenger Act 4 RACE NUMBER: 4
PROTESTING TEAM: SYC
PROTESTED TEAM: VYC
LOCATION OF INCIDENT ON COURSE: Port leg after Start, before first bouy.
RULES ALLEGED TO HAVE BEEN BROKEN: 11
DESCRIPTION OF INCIDENT: SYC was leeward of VYC when VYC veered into SYC, forcing SYC off line.
ATTACH DIAGRAM:

ATTACH HAIL LOG:
[13:46] Drift Monde: SH SYC Says "PROTEST"
[13:47] Drift Monde: SH SYC Says "PROTEST"
[13:47] Drift Monde: Oli
[13:47] Drift Monde: SH SYC Says "PROTEST"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
END PROTEST FORM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
BEGIN DEFENSE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) Inadequate notification.
[14:50] Faykin Odets: I hereby formaly notify you that SYC will be protesting VYC for 3 seperate incidents on the water... 2 in race 4 1 in race 2
Does not clearly state what alleged fouls took place, infringing on the rights of VYC to mount a defense. On this basis alone, the protests should be denied.
After consulting with the rest of VYC, we were unable to guess what Faykin was referring to, and I asked for clarification.
[14:58] Pixeleen Mistral: can you outline what each of the various protest you are filing are about?
[14:58] Pixeleen Mistral: we are confused
We did not get any response from SYC until long AFTER the notification period, when Drifte Monde dropped a folder on us at 3:17 PM SLT, 27 minutes after notification.
2) The detail we recieved from Drifte Monde nearly 30 minutes after the formal notification does not establish a foul had occurred, nor does it establish anything
other than Drifte Monde saying Protest several times.
During the race, it was impossible to know what Drifte Monde was talking about on the course, since she did not say anything other than "Protest" several times. Failing to give the other boat an indication of what the Protest was about during the race compromises the other boat's ability to decide whether to accept the Protest or not, and since we did not see any foul, nor have any indication of what Drife was talking about, we ignored this.
Additionally, SYC's snapshot shows no evidence of a foul.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
END DEFENSE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
FINDINGS
1) SYC is the leeward boat.
2) SYC had to adjust course to avoid VYC, when she (SYC) had right-of-way (same tack, leeward boat).
3) The VYC was non-responsive on-course.
JUDGEMENT
The penalty should be DSQ for VYC for this race.
FINDINGS
This time issue again...
Also writing up a protest...
Sailing shouldn't be about literacy skills, nor evidence collection skills, but there is a need to have sufficient detail to let someone that didn't observe the race make a judgement. Incident 1 has photos showing the contact and one side have provided detailed commentary, both sides have provided photos that seem to support this detailed commentary. Providing evidence that you did Protest is not sufficient to make it clear there was something to Protest about. The lack of any response from the boat that is being Protested could easily suggest the boat they are Protesting is out of chat range - 20m - in which case there is no case to be answered as to how are they denying right of way? SYC provides minimal other details, what they are claiming might have happened, but it is not at all clear that it has. Every sailor I've ever seen can relate the details of any incident in incredible detail. There is so little detail in the provided information that it is impossible to judge what actually took place.
JUDGEMENT
Protest denied. Again there is no clear evidence provided of anything except that SYC called Protest, simply Protesting is not an indication of any foul actually occuring. The snapshot provided is so poorly rezzed (which is not the fault of the sailors) that it is hard to be sure it is even a photograph of the two boats involved. It makes it very poor evidence. Even assuming it is the correct photo, there is nothing in the photo that makes it clear that the SYC boat had to take avoiding action.
FINDINGS
I don't find the defense that not understanding what your competitor is saying is grounds for ignoring a protest -- rather if you don't understand why someone is protesting you, you assess the situation, try to determine what if any problem exists, and if you can't find a problem then hail that you don't accept and move on.
I found the timing of the notifcation and filing of the protest was within the letter of the rules, although perhaps not within the intent. As it meets the letter of the rules, notification of intent to protest within 30 minutes, and formal protest within 4hrs, I am disregarding the complaint as to inadequate notification. The defending team had 3hrs to determine their reponse after receiving the formal protest.
VYC does not provide evidence nor reason why SYC would not have been the leeward boat with ROW. Normally based on the photo provided SYC would be the leeward boat and would have ROW, and if VYC took action that forced SYC to avoid, then it is a Protestable offense. However, things are complicated as it is also an approach to a mark, which may have allowed VYC under Rule 18 to force the SYC boat to Give Room and Keep Clear. However, neither Protest nor Defense addresses when the boats may have become overlapped, nor which boat entered within 2 boat lengths of the mark first.
In the absense of enough documentation to determine whether Rule 18 applies, I must disregard Rule 18 and judge this Protest based solely upon the original Protest of leeward boat under Rule 11 and the description of the leeward boat as having to take avoiding action. The Defender does not address the issue of the Protesting boat having to take avoiding action. Although the photo quality is poor, I believe the boat on SB to be the SYC boat (green hull) and based on the position of the boat's sails, it is the leeward boat. The photo also clearly shows both as overlapped.
I must base my ruling soley on a windward overlapped boat forcing a leeward boat to take avoiding action.
JUDGEMENT
I rule in favor of SYC.
FINDINGS AND JUDGEMENT
Protests rejected due to lack of evidence that collisions occurred that caused significant damage that fused prims, ejected crew, disrupted phsyics continuity, impaired the boat's script functionality, caused a boat to lose the race wind, or even adversely affect the protesting party's final score.
VYC is disqualified from the race.